Home Page


Welcome to our Governors' Page


The Governing Body at Marshlands Primary School acts as a critical friend to the school. It takes part in formulating school policies and managing and setting the financial budget which it continuously reviews throughout the school year. It reviews the school development plan and members come into school to look at the teaching and learning that takes place in the classrooms. Our governing body is made up of parents, staff, local authority representatives and members of the community. Each year group has an appointed governor so that they can get to know the children, check on progress and see how the Pupil Premium is being spent to raise progress.


Please use this page to see who our governors are, find out about their responsibilities, contact the governors and read the termly governors' newsletters.

Our Governors

Our Governors 1 Mrs Cheryl Hallam - Y1
Our Governors 2 Mrs Jeanette Clarkson - Year 3
Our Governors 3 Mrs Geraldine Massey - Year 4
Our Governors 4 Miss Mary Sarginson - Year 5/ 6
Our Governors 5 Mrs Stacey Tang - Headteacher
Our Governors 6 Mr James Wrafter - Associate Governor
Our Governors 7 Mr Daniel Howard Chair of Goverors
Our Governors 8 Ms Emma Yorke - Vice chair
Our Governors 9 Mr Jonathan Alexander-Parent Governor

Governor Responsibilities


Governor Appointment Term               Class Other Responsibilities/Committees Declared Interests
Mrs J Clarkson Staff 10th Nov 2015- 2019

Mrs Latham (Y3/4)

Mrs Sharp (y3/4)

Child Protection and SEN governor.

Safeguarging committee.

Mrs C Hallam Parent

17th Nov 2016 -2020

Resigned Dec 2017.


English governor.

Safeguarding and school improvement committee.

Mr D Howard Community 23rd Feb 2015- 2019

Miss Marston(Y1/2)

Miss Howe(Y3/4) 

Chair & Parent Voice governor.

Safeguarding, school improvement committee, Finance and personnel and Performance review.

Parent works in school
Mr J Alexander Parent 15th Dec 2016-2020 F1am & F1pm  

Mini Bugs Nursery

Double Glazing Company

Mrs G Massey Community 31st Dec 2014 - 2018

Mrs Wright and Mrs Laverack (Y1/2)

Mrs Middleton (Y5/6)

Science and 'Premium' governor.

Finance and personnel, school improvement committee and Performance review.



Miss M Sarginson Community 31st Dec 2014 -2018

Miss Drinkwater (Y1/2)

Mr Wrafter (Y5/6)

Maths governor.

Finance and personnel, Performance review and school improvement

Mrs S Tang Headteacher 31st Aug 2014-2018   Finance and personnel and School improvement.  
Ms E Yorke Community 5th Dec 2016 -2020

Miss Nicholls (F2)

Mrs Proctor (F2)

Foundation governor

Finance and personnel

Mr J Wrafter Associate 17th Nov 2015 - 2019   Finance and personnel  


Governors appointed as : staff, parent, community and authority have voting rights within their committes and also within full governing body meetings.

Associate governors can attend meetings but do not have any voting rights.


Contact The Governors

Please complete the contact form below to contact the governing body. Please include as much information as possible.